Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Close Enough

I started a new heart rate training program this week, deciding to give the Wahoo Fitness Intermediate Burn Program a try. Here’s what I was supposed to do for Week 1 (of 8):

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 7.01.16 PM.png

Here’s what really happened:

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 7.01.05 PM.png

My Garmin Connect calendar does not show the 20-min of cross training via Dance Central and XBox 360 Kinect that I also undertook today. Thus, while the specific days of the activities differ, I did get in three runs and one cross-training activity in a week that was otherwise pure chaos (last week of school). I am feeling good about this accomplishment.

The heart rate data is very interesting. Here is a side-by-side look at the data from today’s two activities:

Screen Shot 2015-12-19 at 7.13.23 PM.png

I couldn’t sustain a heart rate to get into the burn zone with Dance Central simply because each song is very short and there is a lot of down time with the menu; it’s a menu-heavy program. Only a few songs even got my heart rate above 130 bpm, but it was fun to be able to dance as a different form of exercise and still gather biometrics on it, a new ability with this heart rate monitor. Frustrated with the 1:34 of burn time, I hit the streets for a run thereafter, already warmed up. I topped the whole routine off with a 50-second plank for #plankaday. I’m going to call Week 1 a success, and commit to sticking with the daily schedule better for Week 2. We shall see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

December 2015
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
