Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Reinforcements Have Arrived!

If you’ve been reading along you know that I have been in a running slump. I can’t say for certain that it’s over, but I did run 10K today for my Sunday run-day long, slow distance run (see image). I also started planking again with a 50-second plank reported via Twitter to the folks running #plankaday. I am planning on signing up for a November 21K race, a race that I last ran two years ago. It’s amazing what a goal race can do for motivation!

Sunday 10K long, slow distance stats (the humidity was unbearable), September 2015

Sunday 10K long, slow distance stats (the humidity was unbearable), September 2015

My interest has also been boosted by the arrival of some replacement parts and equipment in support of running and general fitness as an “older” girl. My replacement charger for my Garmin 310XT arrived and my precious GPS watch was able to come along with me this morning for the first time in 1.5 months. If only I could figure out how to replace the heart rate monitor and food pod batteries here in Monterrey, I’d be set.

I have a couple new massage tools (see image) and I hope they will help me address some of the IT band pain issues I’ve been having. Those issues seem to have disappeared, but I did have right knee pain today on the back half of the 10K. Now I just need to decide on some reasonable cross training that doesn’t break the bank or sap me of my precious time, of which I seem to have very little these days.

New foam roller and massage stick, September 2015

New foam roller and massage stick, September 2015

Leave a Reply

September 2015
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
