Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Could Have Been

“What could have been is better than what could never be at all,” right? Fellow 80s pop fans will dig it. Today’s race temperature was muggy despite the 7:30 am start. The route, starting at Auditorio San Pedro, is a common one, though running uphill almost directly out of the gate for 500 m takes its toll. I tried my hardest to run fast, but the hill really sapped me, and by the 1K mark I was walking, but just for a bit. I noted a great pace of 8:44/mile and I was thinking to myself, “I really could PR this thing!” My pacing remained well below the necessary 10:00/mile through the 3K mark, but then…

Dawn is breaking humidly at the 5K Andares Run for Us, August 2015

Dawn is breaking humidly at the 5K Andares Run for Us, August 2015

The posted route had us turning well before the usual turnaround for runs along Calzada Del Valle, and I was thinking that I could definitely PR, even with a few more brief walk breaks, if I really wanted to. The trouble was, there were no indicators as to where to turn, and we blew past Rio Tamazunchale, which was contrary to the race’s 5K map. What a bunch of sheep we were, as we kept running towards the Gomez Morin underpass, many of the fastest runners actually under it when an organizer on a motorcycle finally raced up to us to tell us to turn at Rio Moctezuma. I was already about 100 m beyond that cross street too, which was one block east of where we were supposed to have turned.

5K Anadares Run For Us, comparing where we should have turned vs. where we did turn, August 2015

5K Anadares Run For Us, comparing where we should have turned vs. where we did turn, August 2015

You can imagine my mental state as I was running the return; not mad, but deflated. The race is for a good cause, and I would never be mad, but I knew that any PR would be marginal, and however many extra meters I had just run would be a death sentence for any hope of it during this particular race.

I made the remains of the race a game with a small boy of about eight years old who had blown by me with his dad at the 1K mark, looking me up and down like, “What is this old Canadian lady doing here if she’s already walking?” The little fellow began to realize that my walk breaks were not holding me back as I repeatedly passed him and his father after every walk break. He blew by me at one point and turned, looked me in the eye, and gave me the “well, come on” signal with his hand. I blew by him later and said, “Niño verde, andale! Si se puede!” This kept me amused and interested, which was a blessing. My 5K time speaks for itself:

5K Andares Run For Us photo finish, August 2015

5K Andares Run For Us photo finish, August 2015

I haven’t run a 5K race in a time slower than 33 minutes in about ten years. My RunKeeper said I had run 3.62 miles, which is about 5.8K. RunKeeper also said I have the fastest pace in a week right now, so hey, at least there’s that. 😀

The zippiest I've been in a while! August 2015

The zippiest I’ve been in a while! August 2015

One comment on “Could Have Been

  1. usabaker
    August 31, 2015

    nice run; Interesting that the route got messed up.

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
