Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

5K Race Tomorrow!

Deep in the doldrums of not feeling much like running it turns out I have a 5K race. The Andares Run for Us is a race I have run before, only the 10K distance a couple years ago. This time they seemed only to have 5K tickets available, and so that’s what I will run. I picked up my kit this morning after I suddenly remembered that kit pick up was today.

Andares Run for Us race kit, August 29, 2015

Andares Run for Us race kit, August 29, 2015

Needless to say, my 5K race training has not exactly been a priority. Is it snobbish of me to think that a 5K isn’t worth training for? I know that this is not true: I could have trained to get faster, but I am at a point where I am feeling less interested in running. I am up 10 lbs due to poor eating choices, the new school year just kicked off and I always feel like I have planning or grading to do, and the summer heat in Monterrey leaves a lot to be desired in a suitable running temperature.

I will attend the race with a mind to having a good time and not worrying about how long the distance takes. Being around other runners did feel nice today at kit pick up even though I didn’t stay too long. The atmosphere at races is always great and runners are some of the nicest people in the world. I wish I could somehow find a club of them here, but I wouldn’t even know where to start and I don’t want to have to drive in this crazy city!

3 comments on “5K Race Tomorrow!

  1. usabaker
    August 31, 2015

    How did you do? Hope you had a great run 🙂

    • Leslie Farooq
      August 31, 2015

      It definitely could have been a PR if the route was right. I did well for myself. 😀

      • usabaker
        August 31, 2015

        Good to hear you did well. As long as we have fun any race is good right

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2015 by in 5K Race, Fitness, Motivation, Races, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , .
August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
