Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Mega Slacker

So, I’ve been slacking, but I have quite a few decent excuses that almost coalesce into one valid reason as to why I am taking it casual with my running these days.

  1. It’s hot like Mexico (no rejoice). With daytime temperatures as high as 38C/100F or even higher, it’s hard to get up the courage to run at 8 pm, when I usually go on a work day. I am always so slow it’s depressing.
  2. My heart rate monitor is dead, and when I tried to replace the battery we stripped one of those fidgety little screws. In Mexico I have no idea where to take the thing to make it right. Less data is less desire, at least for me.
  3. My foot pod is dead, and since I screwed up in #2 I didn’t even try to replace the battery on this little guy. I’m still in Mexico without a clue. Even less data is even less desire, and I’m still me.
  4. Even though it made the trip to Canada and back in one piece, now I can’t find my claw-like Garmin 310XT charger. A dead GPS watch and now there is even less data, and no more learning metric vs. imperial on the fly.
  5. I might be suffering from a bit of burnout. Run streaks can be fun, but I think I tried too many in a row given all of my other commitments (working full time with work that always comes home, parenting two little kids, and trying not to totally ignore my husband outright all the time).

Despite all of this I have managed to run nearly 100 miles since Earthathon Relay 2 started on July 1, 2015. I want to do more, I want to do better, but now the nights are dark even earlier and I just don’t know how I will fit it all in. I keep trying though, and that’s the main thing!

RunKeeper data for July and August 2015 and for Earthathon Relay #2 which started on July 1, 2015

RunKeeper data for July and August 2015 and for Earthathon Relay #2 which started on July 1, 2015

Leave a Reply

August 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
