Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Running in Nature (#leslieruns)

I learned a valuable lesson about running in nature tonight:

If you are a mouth breather when you run you are apt to swallow some bugs whilst running in nature. It’s the first time I’ve done a serious inhale on a goodly sized insect, and it happened a few times tonight. I guess it was the right combination of season, temperature, and location for there to be veritable clouds of flying insects at mouth height.

I had the pleasure of seeing a cardinal couple dart across my path, the male in hot pursuit of the female. I don’t know if they would raise two clutches in one season, so perhaps they were just out for a rip. I explored a previously uncharted (at least to me) neighborhood and heard the call of red-winged black birds in a roadside water feature. Their call reminds me of my grandmother’s house more than any other bird song.

These enjoyable summer nature runs will soon become a thing of the past. The development and planning signs are up all around Trent University and I fear some of what makes this university truly unique will be lost forever to progress for progress’s sake. It’s as though no one has ever read or seen Dr. Seuss’s “The Lorax.” What a pity.

One comment on “Running in Nature (#leslieruns)

  1. HeyMommaCasey
    July 14, 2015

    Development can be quite a bummer. 😦

Leave a Reply

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
