Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

And on the 33rd day…I rest! (#leslieruns)

My January run streak is officially over today, and here’s why:

I proved to myself that I could run every day for a month, which means I could probably run every day for two months if I felt like it. Heck, if I remained both injury- and illness-free for a while I could probably just keep on, but there is a price. My last few long, slow runs have felt harder and less enjoyable. For the last three long runs, including yesterday’s 20K, I have been just going through the motions, but my heart hasn’t been in it, which is not a fun place to be for a distance runner.

My running buddy and I talked about it on yesterday’s 20K and we wondered if my never getting a true rest day could be a contributing factor. It gave me pause as I contemplated the possibility, and so, just as I decided I could run every day if I wanted to, I shall just as easily decide not to run every day any more. It is my hope that in taking true rest days when my training schedule calls for them I can run a strong half marathon on February 15, 2015.

Running around this city in the few places it is actually “easier” to do so might also be getting a bit boring. My routes vary, but not by that much, because heavy traffic and steep vertical streets greatly constrict my options for long, slow distance routes. That being said, if I wasn’t having to plan a route *every day* it might bring back some of the magic that is distance running. With surroundings like these it’s hard to imaging how it wouldn’t!

My 20K LSD running route gives me a clear shot of La Emme, one of the distinguishing features of Parque Ecologico Chipinque in Monterrey, Mexico.

My 20K LSD running route gives me a clear shot of La Emme, one of the distinguishing features of Parque Ecologico Chipinque in Monterrey, Mexico.

A 7K mid-week running route gives me a clear shot of Cerro de las Mitras, a mountainous outlier of the Sierra Madre Oriental.

A 7K mid-week running route gives me a clear shot of Cerro de las Mitras, a mountainous outlier of the Sierra Madre Oriental.

Leave a Reply

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
