Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

#RunStreak (#leslieruns)

I suppose it’s not that impressive yet, because I’ve only been doing it for the month of January 2015, but I am on what is called a run streak. I first learned about this phenomenon on Twitter, where it often appears as #runstreak, to denote a period during which a runner runs at least 1 mile every day. Runner’s World was promoting a run streak between American Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day, and many of my running buddies on Twitter were participating using #RWrunstreak.

January 2015 #runstreak to date, January 8.

January 2015 #runstreak to date, January 8.

I checked for #JanRunStreak to find very few hits dating back to 2012. Hashtags do seem to either fizzle or soar, so I have been tagging all my runs with the generic #runstreak, which many others also use. Team All American has been using #TAARunStreak, but I am neither on their team, nor American, so I didn’t want to jump on that bandwagon. I also get annoyed when hashtags get too long, it gives me less space to write anything else.

The run streak itself has been fairly fun, though this snap of cold weather has me whining a bit before I go out for each run. I have my Garmin 310XT set for km, because I am from a country that uses metric and I am living in a country that uses metric, but I have my RunKeeper set for miles, which also helps me report to Earthathon in miles, their unit of their choice. I am learning some of my common paces and distances in a new unit, and learning is never bad.

I have been training for the 21K Tarahumara race set to take place on February 15, 2015. I just finished training for the 21K Regio that took place on October 12, 2014. All of this half marathon training has me running distances of 5 to 8K on weekdays, and anywhere from 12K to 20K on long, slow distance day, which is typically Sunday. Thus, when I head out for a distance of 1 mile, or 1.62K, I feel like I am a kid again playing a game. It’s actually fun because it’s quick, and light, and it’s almost over when it starts. I am grateful for this ability and the good feelings this activity provides. I have been trying for a #tobogganingfeels hashtag, because running in this fresh air does remind me of those cold crisp days of tobogganing when I was a kid. It’s a bit long though.

Obviously looking at 1 mile from the point of view of someone who has never trained for running is an entirely different beast, but I used to be on that side of the fence myself back in 2004. How great is it now to look back on where I was and see how far I’ve come that I can treat 1 mile as a lark? I highly recommend a run streak no matter your level of training, because you can always walk some of it, and as it is also a form of locomotion, it totally counts! 🙂

One comment on “#RunStreak (#leslieruns)

  1. Kevin
    January 8, 2015

    Run streak! Good for you. Keep it up

Leave a Reply

January 2015
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
