Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Incentives…I need them! (#leslieruns)

I have been lacking in running incentives lately. I came down with bronchitis and the doctor told me to stop running until I fully recovered. After that there were no races on the horizon and the holiday indulgences were in full swing. Eating well and running go hand in hand, as do eating poorly and sitting around, and that’s what I had been doing. I started to even question my self-identification as a runner; was I still a runner or was I a “has been?”

I am pleased to report that I am back in the swing of running and that I am actually training for not one, but two, races. My protege took it upon herself to sign me up for two races, a 10K on December 31st and a Half Marathon on February 15th. I am not worried about a 10K at my current level of fitness, but I do need to train for a Half Marathon, and so I am.

Tonight we did five hill repeats and I was faster than ever going up those same hills that nearly floored me 1.5 years ago. It is such a great feeling to be back at the training and back doing hill training. I haven’t done any serious hill training since sometime in September, so it was long overdue. It makes my heart flutter and I am so grateful to be able to do it!

Heart rate changes during five hill repeats on December 17, 2014

Heart rate changes during five hill repeats on December 17, 2014

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2014 by in 21K Race, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
December 2014
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
