Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Gratitude Week (#leslieruns)

I know that I should be grateful every day, but when life gets busy, work gets tough, and kids are screaming, it’s hard to remember sometimes just how well things are going. It can be tricky to acknowledge that things are going okay or better, and it’s easy to focus on what’s wrong.

I started up another Lifetime Wellness Challenge cycle with my significant other as my teammate this time around, and this week is when some points can be earned from developing our emotional and/or spiritual selves daily. Being grateful and writing about gratitude is one of the ways that these points can be earned, and so here I am again, contemplating what’s right.

I am grateful at this moment for peace and quiet. I have been working really hard to get ahead of myself with lesson planning due to a scheduled absence, and that has been keeping me from having a moment’s rest all day every day. Even being up this late right now is unheard of for me, because I am always grateful for the ability to sleep and that this household tends to agree on a bedtime around 10 pm at the latest. I am grateful that my bed is up there right now, freshly made and waiting for me. What a wondrous thing it is to be able to let your head hit the pillow and just sleep. I am grateful that I am still able to run long distances and that this latest half marathon training cycle is now officially in taper mode. I know tapering has it’s own set of issues, but my Grandma always said, “A change is as good as a rest.”

Leave a Reply

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
