Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Cadence Data (#leslieruns)

Cadence graph for tempo run on September 20, 2014.

Cadence graph for tempo run on September 20, 2014.

With every run I gather interesting data using my Garmin GPS. I mostly acknowledge my average pace, note that it’s roughly the same as it was when I first started running back in 2006, and then move on with my life. My fastest 5K clocked in at 30:38 and it was chip timed, so I figure that’s probably as good as it will ever get since it hasn’t changed much since that time. I’m not getting any younger.

Today I ran 4.11K at a sub 6 min/km pace and it got me to pondering how I would aim for a sub-30 min 5K. Cadence data is interesting because it tells you about your average steps per minute (mine is usually around 160 spm, but today it was 166 spm), and from that the vertical distance between your foot and the ground can be inferred (less distance is better), and my device provides details about average stride length (mine is usually around 0.9 m, but today it was 1.01 m). I wonder if the key to improving my pace is working on aspects of my cadence? I know turnover matters, but how does one change their turnover, thereby changing their cadence, without totally changing their gait? Every time I try to play with this I get some sort of weird muscle twinge, so I am hesitant!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2014 by in Fitness Journal, Running and tagged , , , , , , , .
September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
