Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Lift Lock! (#justfingers #sightseeing)

2014-07-10 14.53.00

The Peterborough Lift Lock

I am grateful that we had a beautiful afternoon to spend with the kids enjoying this local attraction. The Peterborough Lift Lock is a significant historic structure that enables watercraft to travel along the Trent-Severn Waterway (between Georgian Bay and Lake Ontario) despite the extreme change in elevation in the area. Today I read that it is 19.8 m high, and given that it was constructed in the early 1900s with nothing but poured concrete (no rebar), that’s quite the feat. We were able to watch it in action three times, including the Lift Lock Tour boat.

From time to time when we fill our days with activities like holiday sightseeing I realize that I am not doing my home prescribed physiotherapy exercises as much due to being out and about. I lament that it seems virtually impossible to have a summer vacation that is actually fun and do all the hand exercises that I am supposed to be doing. I can only hope that my recovery to whatever the new normal will be is so slow that these lapsed home exercise activities are not really much of a setback. It’s not like I will ever know, but I can assure you that I don’t want to sit around in my apartment all summer bending my fingers instead of living my life.

As is my way, I have had a second evaluation at a different PT clinic just to see if what is being done at my current clinic is all that is possible, because it did seem to be much reduced from what was being done in Mexico. I will have my first real appointment at the new clinic on Monday and determine from there whether I stick with my first clinic or make the switch. If I am paying for private care anyway I might as well shop around and make sure it’s the best I can get. My initial impression is that the therapist at the new clinic is more experienced and more thorough. I am eager to see if I am right.

I need to get out and run. The air is cool and the sun is on the horizon and I just need my running clothes to finish drying so that I can get out there and go for 5K. It was bad timing on the laundry, which is just another example of an activity that needs doing that isn’t bending each joint separately ten times and holding for a count of ten each time. I will go check it now, and rest assured that a run will happen. My prediction is that it will be a fast run.

Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
