Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

The Benefits of a Run/Walk Strategy

I couldn’t have said it better myself. This is what got me out the door many a time in the first four weeks after each surgery.

Power Of Run

never everI haven’t always been a fan of the run/walk training and racing method-for myself. But then I had a hysterectomy that messed up all my racing plans. As a coach, I decided it was a good opportunity to experiment on myself and find a way to participate in a race season that I would otherwise have to watch from the sidelines.

What have I learned? It works! Six weeks after I was cleared to run, I completed a half marathon run/walk style. It wasn’t a PR. But I finished. I felt good and I was able to continue training Monday after because I wasn’t sore. The exciting part was that, due to so much time off, I hadn’t built my mileage up again. Yet, I was able to run long, and strong, for my level of conditioning.

Since then, I’ve lost a little motivation in the…

View original post 672 more words

One comment on “The Benefits of a Run/Walk Strategy

  1. Kim
    July 9, 2014

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
