Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Fitness Journal, Day 4 (#justfingers #runjoglog)

Day and Date: Saturday, July 5, 2014

Activity: time – 8:47 am, duration – 1:22:31, type – walking, intensity – leisurely (11:21 min/km pace)

Feelings: I was eager to get out for a walk because I have two days left in the week and two days worth of exercise left to do before I have to report my points to LWC. I also wanted to get it done before the summer sun started to get to burn intensity because I prefer not to wear sunscreen.

Nutrition: Today has just started and I have so far eaten a delicious homemade triple coconut waffle with butter and Canadian maple syrup. I have also had three coffees and I might have another, though I usually stop drinking it before noon. I am not sure what the rest of the day’s nutrition will bring, but I will try to earn full points if I can. I have 353 extra Calories to eat!

Body Assessment: It feels fine, and while I can appreciate that a fitness journal might be helpful from time to time or if one is just starting out on an exercise program, to me it seems a little goofy to keep writing this stuff down. I am glad it’s only for one week!

Gratitude: Yesterday I was quietly grateful about five very important people in my life. Today I am sure I will find it hard to come up with meaningful reasons to be grateful, but I will try my best not to be too shallow in my gratitude.

  1. The beautiful sunny, fresh Canadian weather after several days of rain. I love the rain, but with kids life is easier when the sun is shining.
  2. The pileated woodpecker that we saw during our walk. He let us watch him and they aren’t usually that permissive. It’s nice to see real wild species living their lives in peace.
  3. The homemade mitten that mom made to keep my bad hand warm. It gets cold and stiff easily in the 15 C weather.
  4. The hot coffee that I have enjoyed all morning. I realize that coffee is a luxury that I could do without, but it really does get me started each day. I appreciate the perk.
  5. The dianthus flowers that were dormant for several years and then finally sprang forth this year at the end of mom’s driveway. I am also grateful I was still able to properly identify them given that I have let my botanical identification skills fall to disuse since I started teaching.
_Dianthus alpinus_ in flower

_Dianthus alpinus_ in flower

One comment on “Fitness Journal, Day 4 (#justfingers #runjoglog)

  1. noor1145
    July 5, 2014

    This is really motivational, love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

July 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
