Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Brown Juice (#justfingers #running #accident #injury)

I had a lot of post-op blood blisters. Plump with blood, narrow and elongated along the contact areas between my fingers, they were slightly in the way of PT movements and they were a ghastly sight to behold. On Day 1 of PT, which was seven days post-op, the physiotherapist sought reassurance from the PT doctor that she could proceed with PT. Under the guise of a problem with stitches being present, she was gentle and I became worried: gentle hadn’t served me well in the past.

On Day 2 of PT she was expecting the stitches to be removed by the time of my appointment, but they hadn’t been. I told her that they wouldn’t be, that it was too early, but both she and the PT doctor didn’t listen. They had reassured me that they would be more aggressive once they were gone, but the surgeon had called and told them to be more aggressive regardless, and the PT doctor agreed. So I felt a good deal of pain during PT, but my main goal is to avoid tendon fusion, so I was happy in pain.

On Day 3 of PT, nine days post-op, the blood blisters were still well in the way, plump, brown and disgusting. It occurred to me by then that PT might actually cause them to burst. Perhaps her concern had been more about those and less about stitches all along. Vigorous PT could certainly push them to their capacity and then the physiotherapist would be covered in brown juice. A great reason to never become a physiotherapist myself! Fortunately this happened only once towards the end of the passive motion phase of my treatment and the PT doctor was standing right there to reassure her it was both normal and harmless.

At work ten days post-op they were starting to break on their own without warning, causing me to spend much of my time with my hand wrapped in tissues. This is very gross, I know, but I was happy to see the beginning of the end of them. I am not a big fan of bolsas de sangre and I didn’t want the floodgates to be opening up during PT. Many of them broke on their own and what few that remained were helped along by the campus doctor. Sticking them with a pin on your own is only bad if your pin is not sterile: the campus doctor used a single-use sterile diabetes blood test sharp and applied antibacterial cream afterwards. My physiotherapist was smiling very wide on Day 4 of PT. My hand looks much better without those!
Round 2, eleven days post-op.

Round 2, eleven days post-op.

Round 2, eleven days post-op, palmar surface.

Round 2, eleven days post-op, palmar surface.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 18, 2014 by in Broken Fingers, Physiotherapy, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
