Leslie Runs

My journey as a long distance runner who started the sport later in life.

Genesis (#justfingers #running #accident #injury)

It’s not just a rock band, it’s the name of tonight’s substitute physiotherapist, and though she seemed a bit disorganized at first, she proved to be capable when it counts the most: at inducing pain. You develop a relationship with your physiotherapist, and having a regular person assigned to you is hailed as a key ingredient for a successful recovery. When I didn’t see Vero strolling around during my wait I started to wonder, and sure enough, no Vero.

Genesis is young, and still studying at university. She was friendly enough, but spoke a brand of Spanish I could barely understand; softly dropping consonants and syllables at a rapid-fire pace. I tried to make small talk with her, but because my ability to understand and respond to her was limited, it didn’t get very far. I was chatting in English to another patron and Genesis would laugh from time to time, so I think she did understand English, but was not brave enough to speak it with me.

I found myself watching her more closely than I watch Vero. Correcting her approach with the ultrasound wand, telling her how Vero does it. I never thought I would be one of “those” people, but there it was: “Vero puts the TENS pads like this.” “Vero uses less gel.” Vero is my hero, in case you didn’t know. She is at the front lines in the battle to save my poor fingers. She labors over them as though they were her own children. She talks to me like a sister. Genesis was competent and capable, but I sure did miss Vero. Vero feels like my new best friend.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 4, 2014 by in Physiotherapy and tagged , , , , , .
March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow Leslie Runs on WordPress.com
